National School-to-Work
Advisory Membership List

School-to-Work Advisory Council named

The Advisory Council was established in the fall of 1995 by Secretaries Robert Reich, U.S. Department of Labor, and Richard Riley, U.S. Department of Education, to advise the Departments and the National School-to-Work Office on the implementation of the School-to-Work Opportunities Act.

The Council assesses the progress of School-to-Work Opportunities systems development and program implementation; makes recommendations regarding progress and implementation of the School-to-Work initiative;
advises on the effectiveness of the Federal role in providing venture capital to States and localities to develop School-to-Work systems; and acts as
advocates for implementing the School-to-Work framework.

The Council’s membership is representative of the wide range of stakeholders in the School-to-Work community.

Advisory Council Members:

Dr. Jacquelyn Belcher
Advisory Council Co-chair
Dekalb Community College

Raydean Acevedo
President & CEO
Research Management Consultants, Inc.

Glenn Anderson
Chair, Board of Trustees
Gallaudet University

Robert Antonucci
Commissioner of Education
Massachusetts Department of Education

Marguerite Archie-Hudson
Crystal Stairs

Kay Beard
Vice Chair
Wayne County Commission

Isabel Carter Stewart
National Executive Director
Girls, Inc.

Paul Cole
New York State AFL-CIO

Kenneth Corn
Past National President
Future Business Leaders of America

Terrance Craney
Wisconsin Educational Association Council

Mary Cross
Associate Director of Legislation
American Federation of Teachers

David Demarest
Senior Vice-president, Corporate Communications
Bank of America Corporation

Marsha Dennis
Surgical Technician
Brigham & Women's Hospital

Lee Doyle
Director of Corporate Affairs
Bellsouth Corporation

Cynthia Eisenhauer
Iowa Department of Employment Services

Walter Gerken
Chairman of the Equity Board
Pimco Advisors L.P.

Thomas P. Glynn
Chief Operating Officer
Partners Health Care Systems, Inc.

Barbara Green
Executive Director
Greater New York Hospital Foundation, Inc.

Samuel Halperin
American Youth Policy Forum

Paul Helmke
Fort Wayne, Indiana

Gladys Hunt
Coordinator of Program Development & Outreach
University of Illinois
The Psychological Services Center

James Hunt, Jr.
Governor, North Carolina

Jerry Jackson
Executive Vice President, External Affairs
Energy Corporation

John Kennedy, Jr.
George Magazine

Charles Knapp
The University of Georgia

John Mckernan, Jr.
Chairman & CEO
Mckernan Enterprises, Inc.

David Mertes
International Community College

Sandy Miller
First Lady of Nevada

Hilary Pennington
Jobs for the Future

Roy Peters
State Director
Oklahoma Dept. of Vocational and Technical

Lessie Price
Advisor, Education Outreach Programs
Westinghouse Savannah River Company

Judith Ramaley
University of Vermont

Ray Robertson
General Vice President
Iron Workers International

BJ Rylander
Business Education/Computer Teacher
Evansville High School

Kurt Schmoke
Baltimore, Md

Robert Schwartz
Harvard Graduate School of Education

Beth Shulman
Vice President and Director
United Food and Commercial Workers International

Shawntel Smith
Miss America 1996

Robert Stalick
Educational Consulting Services

Marc S. Tucker
National Center on Education and the Economy

Carol Vallone
President and CEO
University Learning Technology

George Voinovich
Governor, Ohio

Lois Jean White
The National PTA

Nancy Zimpher
The Ohio State University

Last updated June 19, 1998

For additional information, please contact:
The School-to-Work Learning & Information Center
400 Virginia Avenue, Room 150
Washington, DC 20024
Phone: 1-800-251-7236
Fax: 1-202-401-6211